The Jim Winthers Volunteer Award

The Jim Winthers Volunteer Award

The Jim Winthers Volunteer Award recognizes life-time contributions and significant achievements in furthering the mission of Disabled Sports USA. Nominees for this award must have contributed a minimum of 10 years of service to Disabled Sports USA or one of its chapters.

The Jim Winthers Volunteer Award is named in honor of Jim Winthers, a WWII veteran who was a member of the U.S. 10th Mountain Division- the Skiing 10th- an elite group specifically trained for alpine warfare. He eventually became a pioneer in teaching adaptive skiing, beginning with two friends who became amputees in the war; he taught them to ski on one leg using techniques he saw  in Europe. Jim Winthers, with the support of other veterans, founded Disabled Sports USA in 1967.


Complete the Jim Winthers Volunteer Award Nomination Form or Printable Version and submit your nomination. Nomination deadline: August 22.

A selection committee will review all nominees and present their decision to the DSUSA Board of Directors for ratification.

The award recipient and nominator will be notified prior to the award presentation at The Hartford Ski Spectacular.

A grant of $1,000 will be awarded to the chapter affiliated with the person who nominated the award winner.

For further questions, please contact kstott@dsusa.org

Award Recipient

The recipient of the Jim Winthers Volunteer Award will receive:

  • An invitation to attend The Hartford Ski Spectacular for December in Breckenridge, CO
  • Round-trip airfare to Denver International Airport
  • Ground transportation from and to Denver International Airport
  • Two nights lodging at Beaver Run Resort and Conference Center
  • Lift tickets at Beaver Run Resort
  • Two tickets to the banquet during which the award will be presented

Past Recipients of the Jim Winthers Volunteer Award

2015 Tony Santilli 1994 Doug Sato
2014 Tom Trevithick 1993 Hal O’Leary
2013 Liz Craveiro 1992 Jan Morrissey
2012 Al Kaye 1991 Rod Hernley
2011 Mike “Milty” Miltner 1990 Fred Tassone
2010 Michael Zuckerman 1989 United Airlines Volunteers
2009 Bill Bowness 1988 Ed Lucks
2008 Dr. Bob Harney 1987 Mary and Earl Plummer
2007 Bart Dekker 1986 Dr. Duane Messner
2006 Bill Demby 1985 David Spencer
2005 John and Cathy Sarubbi 1984 Jack Benedict
2003 Susan Michalski 1983 Ben Allen
2002 Bob Guerrero 1982 Paul Liemkuehler
1999 Gwen Allard 1981 Jerry Groswald
1997 Mike Hulett 1980 Bill Stieler
1996 James Voltz  
1995 James Thweat
GuideStar Best of ICA CFC

Disabled Sports USA is a nonprofit, tax-exempt charitable organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Donations are tax-deductible as allowed by law.

Disabled Sports USA

© Disabled Sports USA // 451 Hungerford Drive, Suite 100, Rockville MD 20850 // Tel: 301-217-0960